It’s the Tonight Show…without Conan O’Brien

from mashable.com, Jan. 21, 2010

This just goes to show that if you love something, LET IT GO…..and Jay may come back.

Case in point: Take me and the Tonight show. For years, this program was apart of my daily routine and was the cause of many sleep deprived days. But still, I loved hearing Jay Leno’s voice as I fell asleep.

It had been announced years before it happened, that Jay Leno would step down and a new host would take on the Tonight show. That would eventually lead to Conan O’Brien’s intro into the show in early summer.

I ignored my feelings that it felt unnatural to have Conan, who I also loved, coming on an hour early.  But the only factoids that made his show The Tonight Show was that it came on at 11:35 p.m. and… well, that it was called The Tonight Show. I didn’t mean to, but I stopped watching.

I accepted that things were now the way they were going to be: Conan’s on at 11:35 p.m. and Jay’s on at the unwatchable time of 10:00 p.m. (but it was still good to know that he was around). I felt like the song “Nothing But a Miracle”, by Diane Birch, should have been played.

And a miracle did happen, God himself could not have predicted that the Powers That Be would reverse their decision and bring Jay back. But it has happened… and I’m happy!

Here’s why: Conina (my lovable Conan nickname) will always be funny and great to watch. He has great interview skills and knows how to make fun of situations. But he over stepped his boundaries. The Tonight Show was not for him and he doesn’t need to step in shoes that have already been worn time and time again. In a way, this decision to step down is good for him and his career. Coco deserves an original platform of his own.

Comments are closed.

